Graphic showcasing Grand Prairie ISD’s location in Northeast Texas


Dr. Susan Hull

President of the board:

Terry Brooks

District demographics




Staff & faculty


Students served

Student demographics


Qualify for free/reduced lunch


English language learner

District mission

Ensure student success through engaging learning experiences, collaborative leadership, and a focus on maximizing student achievement.

Greatest challenge

Public schools for the public good are being challenged. Competition from for-profit schools is driving a need for continuous improvement and positive forward motion at all times.

About the superintendent

Dr. Susan Hull has been a Texas educator for 37 years, serving as a teacher, coach, principal, and superintendent. She is in her 10th year as the superintendent of the Grand Prairie ISD. Hull has served in five school districts ranging from small, rural to her current district. She was named 2005 Texas Superintendent of the Year by the Texas Association of School Boards and the Texas Association of School Administrators.

About the president of the board

Mr. Terry Brooks has 17 years of service on the Grand Prairie ISD school board. He is a lifelong resident of Grand Prairie and a product of GPISD schools. Terry’s three children also attended GPISD and two of his daughters are currently pursuing careers in education. Terry has worked for the Vought Aircraft Division of Triumph Aerostructures as an aircraft mechanic for the past 26 years. He is a lifetime member of PTA.

Leadership determines a team’s level of effectiveness. The more you seek to achieve, the greater the leadership is required.

— Dr. Susan Hull, Superintendent

Leadership development is vital because it molds the next generation of leaders while fortifying our current leaders. That blend allows for seamless transitions while furthering the vision we have for our students.

— Mr. Terry Brooks, President of the Board

Learn about the other districts

Arlington ISD

Superintendent: Marcelo Cavazos

President of the board: Jamie Sullins

Klein ISD

Superintendent: Bret Champion

President of the board: William Pilkington

Lamar Consolidated ISD

Superintendent: Thomas Randle

President of the board: James Steenbergen

Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

Superintendent: Danny King

President of the board: Ben Garza

Round Rock ISD

Superintendent: Steve Flores

President of the board: Diane Cox

Southwest ISD

Superintendent: Lloyd Verstuyft

President of the board: Mike Frazier