Graphic showcasing Klein ISD’s location in East Texas


Dr. Bret Champion

President of the board:

William Pilkington

District demographics




Staff & faculty


Students served

Student demographics


Qualify for free/reduced lunch


English language learner

District mission

In Klein ISD, every student enters with a promise and exits with a purpose.  We achieve this vision by focusing on pathways, challenge, equity, leadership, and continuous improvement.

Greatest challenge

Closing achievement gaps for particular student groups and personalizing pathways for all students, as well as increasing the number of students participating in and successfully completing our most challenging courses.

About the superintendent

Dr. Bret Champion became superintendent of Klein ISD in 2016. Previously, he served for 23 years in Leander ISD as a superintendent, assistant superintendent, principal and teacher. Early in Dr. Champion’s career, he was a member of the second corps of Teach for America in Houston and Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He holds a doctorate in education from the University of Texas, a master’s in education from Texas State University and a bachelor’s in English from the University of Houston.

About the president of the board

William Pilkington was elected to Klein ISD’s board of trustees in 2002. He is a partner with the CPA firm Bentley, Bratcher & Associates and is an active volunteer, serving as a volunteer firefighter with the Ponderosa Fire Department and on the boards of the Houston Intercontinental Chamber of Commerce and the North Houston Economic Development Council. Mr. Pilkington is a leader with his son’s Boy Scout troop and has coached youth sports.

We are grateful for this outstanding opportunity to further advance our shared vision that every student enters with a promise and exits with a purpose.

— William Pilkington, President of the Board

The ability for The Holdsworth Center to bring exemplars from outside the field of education will challenge our thinking and allow for more innovative solutions.

— Dr. Bret Champion, Superintendent

Learn about the other districts

Arlington ISD

Superintendent: Marcelo Cavazos

President of the board: Jamie Sullins

Grand Prairie ISD

Superintendent: Susan Hull

President of the board: Terry Brooks

Lamar Consolidated ISD

Superintendent: Thomas Randle

President of the board: James Steenbergen

Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

Superintendent: Danny King

President of the board: Ben Garza

Round Rock ISD

Superintendent: Steve Flores

President of the board: Diane Cox

Southwest ISD

Superintendent: Lloyd Verstuyft

President of the board: Mike Frazier