Graphic showcasing Round Rock ISD’s location in Central Texas


Dr. Steve Flores

President of the board:

Diane Cox

District demographics




Staff & faculty


Students served

Student demographics


Qualify for free/reduced lunch


English language learner

District mission

Each student contributes to society, continues to learn, and confidently embraces the challenges of a competitive and ever changing world.

Greatest challenge

To close the achievement gap so students have the same educational opportunities after high school and after attending Round Rock ISD.

About the superintendent

Dr. Steve Flores has served the students of Round Rock ISD since October 2013. Previously, he served as superintendent at Harlingen CISD for five years. Dr. Flores began his career at San Angelo ISD as a paraprofessional, coach and bus driver, then went on to become a teacher and a coach, then a vice principal and principal. He’s served as assistant superintendent at Pflugerville ISD and Round Rock ISD, and in various administrative roles at Dallas ISD.

About the president of the board

Diane Cox was elected to the Board of Trustees in 2005 and is the district’s longest-serving trustee. Cox earned her Master Trustee designation from the Texas Association of School Boards upon completion of Leadership TASB in 2007. Cox has also served on the TASB Legislative Advisory Council for Region 13. While in office, Cox was named president of the Central Texas School Board Association. Cox moved to Round Rock in 1998 and works as a Sales Account Executive for Tango Software of Austin.

Providing the avenue for such leadership development is a remarkable opportunity not only for Round Rock ISD, but also for public education in Texas.

— Dr. Steve Flores, Superintendent

As a district, we value and support leadership development at all levels. We see the program seamlessly aligning with our goals.”

— Diane Cox, President of the Board

Learn about the other districts

Arlington ISD

Superintendent: Marcelo Cavazos

President of the board: Jamie Sullins

Grand Prairie ISD

Superintendent: Susan Hull

President of the board: Terry Brooks

Klein ISD

Superintendent: Bret Champion

President of the board: William Pilkington

Lamar Consolidated ISD

Superintendent: Thomas Randle

President of the board: James Steenbergen

Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

Superintendent: Danny King

President of the board: Ben Garza

Southwest ISD

Superintendent: Lloyd Verstuyft

President of the board: Mike Frazier