Graphic showcasing Southwest ISD’s location in Central Texas


Dr. Lloyd Verstuyft

President of the board:

Mike Frazier

District demographics




Staff & faculty


Students served

Student demographics


Qualify for free/reduced lunch


English language learner

District mission

The mission of Southwest Independent School District is to identify and develop the potential of all individuals.

Greatest challenge

Need to establish a pathway to ensure all school leaders are able to attend excellent professional learning opportunities and share those learnings with peers and future leaders.

About the superintendent

Dr. Lloyd Verstuyft has served as superintendent of Southwest ISD since 2010. He began his career in the district as a teacher and coach at McNair Junior High in 1989. Throughout his years at Southwest, Dr. Verstuyft has served as assistant principal and principal at McAuliffe Junior High, principal at Southwest High School, executive director of administration and pupil services, and assistant superintendent for administration and human resources.

About the president of the board

Mike Frazier, a former Northside ISD educator and school counselor, has served on the Southwest ISD board for 37 years.

We must institute the idea of lifelong learning in all aspects of our system. As The Holdsworth Center would say, leadership is a journey, not a destination.

— Dr. Lloyd Verstuyft, Superintendent

Our team’s energy, commitment and passion for our students is contagious. I am excited to see what we will accomplish together.

— Mike Frazier, Board President

Learn about the other districts

Arlington ISD

Superintendent: Marcelo Cavazos

President of the board: Jamie Sullins

Grand Prairie ISD

Superintendent: Susan Hull

President of the board: Terry Brooks

Klein ISD

Superintendent: Bret Champion

President of the board: William Pilkington

Lamar Consolidated ISD

Superintendent: Thomas Randle

President of the board: James Steenbergen

Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

Superintendent: Danny King

President of the board: Ben Garza

Round Rock ISD

Superintendent: Steve Flores

President of the board: Diane Cox